The Woman Of My Dreams

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” — Timothy Leary

I like men.

I always have.  I have learned that men are not women and in our “progressive” society, we have to stop thinking that they are or at least that men and women are interchangeable.  My children have showed me that from a very early age, boys and girls process the same information or set of facts in two different ways.  As I learn what that means about grown boys, I begin to understand who and what I have to be to get what I want.  I have learned that I need to be simply me, a sometimes illogical, almost always goofy, needs a hug daily, wants to feel secure, sometimes tomboy/sometimes girly, woman.

I, as all women do have the image of a perfect man in my head.  While each woman’s desires vary about the man of their dreams, I can specifically describe the man who lives in mine.  He is my version of perfectly sexy and thinks that I’m the greatest thing since sliced bread.  He works hard, laughs often, and complains rarely.  I can probably go through and size up a whole host of men and decide whether or not he has what I like or if he’s “sponge-worthy” but what it comes down to is not him at all.  I can fantasize, write about, and even draw pictures of him but none of that will ultimately satisfy me.  I have discovered that the only satisfaction that there is to find when you are opening yourself up to romantic relationships is that you are first happy with you.  I have learned that if I want to attract the man of my dreams, I will have to make sure that I am the woman of MY dreams.

Image courtesy of strongwomenquotes.org

Leave a Reply

