When My Peace Is Chased To The Corners Of My Mind

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.” 

One of the things that my mother taught me very early in my life is how to have a personal relationship with God.  She did not explain it to me in words, rather she showed me as she would sing and hum to comfort herself in obviously stressful times.  When she would become frustrated and before screaming at us, take a deep breath, close her eyes and after whispering, “Lord help me”, would continue to correct us.  I have learned that this life is not fair, but God is always good.

Image Courtesy of Brian Andreas

However, I am learning to listen to His voice in me and often, in the midst of four laughing, screaming little angels, it is difficult.

In the midst of getting up early to workout and in the rush out the door to work, I miss Him.

As I move through my day and help people accomplish various tasks, I have trouble hearing Him.

And then, in the quiet of the evening, before I lay down my head, I hear Him.

I see Him.

I am reminded of who He is and of who I am.

Image courtesy of ronbigelow.com

While He may be in the church service with the flashing lights and wonderful music, He is with me when my eyes flutter open and I only want 30 more minutes to sleep.  He may be in the loudly prayed prayers of various people, but He is with me when I am making my morning coffee and waiting on the turkey bacon to finish cooking.  Many feel that He is in the miracle service and He is, but He is also with me when I am helping a co-worker or soothing my child as she fights sleep.

I am choosing to write this because He is with you too.  His voice is within you and speaking to you.  So, as I lay me down to sleep and think on the day that has passed, I remember that I don’t have to know all of the answers.  I certainly don’t have to answer to another human being about what God has put within me, I only have to know what I learned as a very small child.

Image courtesy of allabouttheheart.wordpress.com

“I had a talk with God last night.  I cried oh Lord, please make things alright.  He said, “I’m God, all by myself.  If you have Me, you’ll need no one else.” I said, “Thank God, for now I see.  Thank you for giving me victory.” Whenever I need Him, He’s so good to me.  I had a talk with God last night.”  —Pastor Mitty Collier

Leave a Reply

