What women want

I am a woman, I should be able to fill in the rest of this with confidence, but as I begin my 34th year of life, I am still confused about most of it. 

I work full-time, and make a decent wage, which fulfills my inner strong, secure, independent woman.  I have been with my husband for seven years, which should prove that I’m lovable (at least bearable).  I have four small children (the oldest is 5) which proves my fertility.  I have a bachelor’s and master’s degree which should sufficiently prove my intelligence.  Why then do I find myself so unsatisfied from time to time?  With secure employment, beautiful children and a hard working husband, shouldn’t I be ecstatic with life? 

I guess I find myself facing what everyone else faces at some point during this lifetime.  I certainly wouldn’t call it a mid-life crisis (I hope that I have more than just 33 more years on this planet).  I also wouldn’t attempt to “shake things up” to see what falls out.  At this point it’s my theory that after spending the last 6 years either pregnant or nursing, I feel like I’m drowning in my own life.  I am so proud of my babies and I spend quite a bit of time making sure they have plenty of learning resources as well as talking to them about their learning.  I am so very blessed by their presence, but this motherhood thing can be tough. 

Motherhood is a 365/24/7 job.  You are not paid in dollars, but in kisses, snuggles, and stained blouses.  You cease becoming a woman and become _________’s mom.  Your identity is mommy, wife, and whatever your job is. 

I believe that what women want is for the person who they love hold their face, look them in the eye and say “You’re an amazing woman, and I love you.”  (did I mention that we’d like this on a daily basis? 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

